PDA

View Full Version : CEP - Problem


gabilei123
16th Sep 2017, 8:00 PM
I try to make an Extra-CEP for a door. I have already managed that the handle is now blue. But it should be separately recolorable.
I looked for a tutorial, but found only that: http://www.leefish.nl/mybb/showthread.php?tid=6724. This is not very detailed.
Especially I do not understand how to change the MMAT and for what we need the TXMT. I would imagine that the MMAT is the cause.
I do not know, how to change the family and the objectGUID (a new one?). Which lines else are to change?
A door has also diagonal objects. What I have to consider?
How can the game know, for which object the CEP is made?

gabilei123
16th Sep 2017, 8:24 PM
Sorry, I took now the original GUID for the MMAT, now it works. I had understood from the link above, that I had to change the GUID, I thougt that was meant with instance. Have I to change another value instead?

And what had to be in the family? At the moment I have used a random value.
Furthermore the diagonal object is not yet working.

EDIT:
At the moment nothing works anymore, after I have tried somthing with the diagonal subsets.

AdonisPluto
16th Sep 2017, 10:56 PM
To understand making the straight work with its diagonal read this http://modthesims.info/t/82075

gabilei123
17th Sep 2017, 6:01 AM
To understand making the straight work with its diagonal read this http://modthesims.info/t/82075

Thank you!
I've already read that, and I had no problems to clone a door and link the straight and diagonal object. The result is here: http://modthesims.info/download.php?t=600025.
But now I want to make the original door's handle recolorable. And until now I was not able to do that. The CEP worked for the straight, nevertheless I'm not sure, if I did all right. For example, I do not really know, how to fill the MMAT. But it worked.
However, after including the diagonal subsets in the CEP, it doesn't work anymore.
I tried to apply this tutorial for the CEP, but it seems it is not exactly the same as for meshes.

AdonisPluto
17th Sep 2017, 8:13 AM
If you can share the package file, I can take a look into it and see what is wrong.

AdonisPluto
17th Sep 2017, 11:36 AM
I took a look into your package file from your uploaded file in the link you gave above, and I think your problem is from the subset names that you have mixed up.

You have a texture for the door and the handle. The texture name is handle, but in your shape category you have to link the texture name to the subset name (_handle_handle) but instead you have it as (_door_handle).

The same goes for the material definition TXMT and the material override MMAT. You have door attached to where you are supposed to have handle.

Am sure you have read this tutorial http://modthesims.info/t/103379 If you have not please do. You need to pay attention to the SHAPE, MATERIAL DEFINITION AND MATERIAL OVERRIDE section.

Open your master package from your uploaded file, and take a look at the sections I mentioned above and compare it with the tutorial. You will notice a mistake in these parts.

The mistakes are in the name that you used for the handle name. In these sections you switched the handle name with door.

Hope this helps

gabilei123
17th Sep 2017, 11:36 AM
If you can share the package file, I can take a look into it and see what is wrong.

The packages are here: http://filehorst.de/d/cIAFHdhh .

It was a new try with no result. Before I used the diagonal subsets I was a little bit more successful.
Maybe there are to much subsets in the packages, I began with fewer, but it doesn't work.

gabilei123
17th Sep 2017, 11:40 AM
I took a look into your package file from your uploaded file in the link you gave above, and I think your problem is from the subset names that you have mixed up.

You have a texture for the door and the handle. The texture name is handle, but in your shape category you have to link the texture name to the subset name (_handle_handle) but instead you have it as (_door_door).

The same goes for the material definition TXMT and the material override MMAT. You have door attached to where you are supposed to have handle.

Am sure you have read this tutorial http://modthesims.info/t/103379 If you have not please do. You need to pay attention to the SHAPE, MATERIAL DEFINITION AND MATERIAL OVERRIDE section.

Open your master package from your uploaded file, and take a look at the sections I mentioned above and compare it with the tutorial. You will notice a mistake in these parts.

The mistakes are in the name that you used for the handle name. In these sections you switched the handle name with door.

Hope this helps

But with this upload I have not noticed any problems. I have a problem with my try of maxking CEP-files. And these I gave you just in a link in my comment above.

AdonisPluto
17th Sep 2017, 11:43 AM
But with this upload I have not noticed any problems. I have a problem with my try of maxking CEP-files. And these I gave you just in a link in my comment above.

I will take a look into these one you sent. Will update later

AdonisPluto
17th Sep 2017, 11:56 PM
Which is the Master file for this object.

gabilei123
18th Sep 2017, 7:06 AM
Which is the Master file for this object.

What do you mean with master file? It is for the "Oaktowne Classic Door" and cloned from it.
It is the door I have recolored in http://modthesims.info/download.php?t=600023.
I have googled and found out, the master file seems have to do with slaved objects. But I want not slave.
I want make the handles recolorable for this door like in http://modthesims.info/download.php?t=595295 for another door.

GL_CEP_DoorClub1.package should go to C:\Users\Gabi\Documents\EA Games\Die Sims 2\zCEP-EXTRA and GL_CEP_DoorClub1_ProgramFiles.package to C:\Program Files (x86)\EA GAMES\Die Sims 2\TSData\Res\Catalog\zCEP-EXTRA, in case this was the question.

HugeLunatic
18th Sep 2017, 12:21 PM
In your new MMAT, the instance number is the same as the orginal MMAT you cloned. Use the Hash Generator in SimPE to hash the new name of your MMAT (doorclub1_handle), then use either the crc 24 or crc 32 as the new instance number. You replace this on the resource tab.

gabilei123
18th Sep 2017, 10:35 PM
In your new MMAT, the instance number is the same as the orginal MMAT you cloned. Use the Hash Generator in SimPE to hash the new name of your MMAT (doorclub1_handle), then use either the crc 24 or crc 32 as the new instance number. You replace this on the resource tab.

Thank you. I have changed that, and now it works.