PDA

View Full Version : Object is flashing magenta???

CatherineTCJD
30th Jul 2010, 3:14 AM
Hiya gurus...

I've been around for a looong time, and am pretty proficient with SimPE. However, I'm new to creating...

I've just started a new project: I'm trying to use Pixelhate/Numenor's 1-tile poster for ALL the Maxian wallpaper trims - then I'll weed-out (hide) the redundant wallpapers. It really bugs me that Maxis used up so much catolog space for the same wallpaper but with different trimmings. AARGH!

So, anyway, I cloned the poster to give it my own guid (because I was scrolling forEVER through the recolors of it that I already had :rolleyes: ) I culled the Maxis LIFO/texture files for the ones I wanted, Photochopped :D them, and made recolors... No problem!

I tested them all in game - all were good, except many of them were not quite the color I thought they'd be. I thought since I'd used the Maxis textures, they would match those walls in-game. They didn't. (I found that very strange...) So, I switched to research mode and spent the last three days reading, searching, and trying. I found Pixelhate's tut on TXMT's and the envcube... I followed that. Things were looking better.

But, now, every wall is glowing magenta - or dark purple (like magenta with the glow turned off) I've beat my head against the bricks all day - and finally decided I needed help. :cry: So, here I am. Pleading :help:

I've tried taking out the last thing I added - the reflections. Nope.

I've tried starting over with a new re-cloned mesh, and redoing the recolors - all 86 of them - to that mesh. Still not good. (Which is really driving me nuts, 'cause it worked before!)

What am I missing? Please help! Thank you!!!

mustluvcatz
30th Jul 2010, 3:54 AM
Your texture wasn't showing up in "preview" in the GMDC. I changed some of the settings in the TXMT and the texture shows in "preview" now. Everything is linked properly- which is why I played around with the TXMT.